WMMH

Residents

The residents in training at the White Memorial Medical Center Family Medicine Residency Program have a strong motivation to learn family medicine while working with under-served multicultural populations in a community setting, and a commitment to lifelong professional education.

 PGY-3 Residents

Loan Bui, MD Loan Bui, M.D.
• Place of Birth: Can Tho, Vietnam.
• Medical School: Creighton School of Medicine, Omaha, NE.
• Date of Graduation: May 2011.
• Education: University of California, Los Angeles, CA (B.S., Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology – 2004).
• Hobbies: I enjoy traveling, watching movies, hiking, biking and swimming.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Vietnamese and basic Spanish.
• Personal Accomplishments: I am most proud to have my family and friends. They are my blessings, inspirations and joy in life.
 
Michael Chang, DO Michael Chang, D.O.
• Place of Birth: Anaheim, California.
• Medical School: Western University of Health Sciences - College of Osteopathic Medicine, Pomona, CA.
• Date of Graduation: May 2011.
• Education: University of California, Irvine, CA (B.S., Biology- June 2006).
• Hobbies: Watching movies, swimming, playing basketball, surfing and traveling.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Mediocre in Japanese.
• Personal Accomplishments: Community service at the Boys’ and Girls’ Club in Pomona. I am not sure what my most proud moment or accomplishments, but I am proud and satisfied that I was able to work with the youth of the community.
 
Cristina I. Cuevas, MD Cristina I. Cuevas, M.D.
• Place of Birth: San Juan, Puerto Rico.
• Medical School: University of California, San Francisco, CA.
• Date of Graduation: May 2011.
• Education: University of California, Irvine, CA (B.S., Biological Sciences - June 2007).
• Hobbies: Sewing, reading and graphic designing.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Spanish.
• Personal Accomplishments: I am proud to have chosen a specialty that is currently at the forefront of change. I believe in primary care and the pivotal role it will play as we work to improve our health care system for all patients.
 
Michael Hinson, DO   Michael Hinson, D.O.
• Place of Birth: Atlanta, Georgia.
• Medical School: Western University of Health Sciences- School of Osteopathic Medicine, Pomona, CA.
• Date of Graduation: May 2011.
• Education: Georgia Technical College, Atlanta, GA (B.S., Industrial and Systems Engineering - 2001).
• Hobbies: Athletics, team handball, golf, cook, read, and travel.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Spanish.
• Personal Accomplishments: Community Service: Volunteer service with local schools, health clinics and community clean-up.
• Athletics: Member of USA Senior National Team in the sport of team handball. Traveled to Brazil and Canada for pre-2008 Olympic Qualifying. Named team leader and medical advisor for 2011 under 19 U.S. National Team.
 
Vanessa Kohl, DO Vanessa Kohl, D.O.
• Place of Birth: Orange County, California.
• Medical School: Touro University Nevada, Henderson, NV.
• Date of Graduation: May 2011.
• Education: University of California, Irvine, CA (B.S., Biological Sciences).
• Hobbies: I enjoy spending time with my friends and family, reading and solving puzzles.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Conversational Spanish.
• Personal Accomplishments: I have been involved in clinical research since 2001. As a clinical researcher, I have co-authored several articles published in medical journals and served as a head research coordinator of a UC Irvine Medical Center research group. I was also involved with a high school outreach program that served underprivileged students and encouraged them to pursue careers in the health sciences.
 
Annie Kuo, DO Annie Kuo, D.O.
• Place of Birth: Edmond, Oklahoma.
• Medical School: Western University of Health Sciences - College of Osteopathic Medicine, Pomona, CA.
• Date of Graduation: May 2011.
• Education: Tufts University, Medford/Somerville, MA (B.S., Biology/Psychology, Community Health - May 2002); Boston University, MA (M.A., Medical Science - May 2006).
• Hobbies: Enjoying Yoga, running, snowboarding, reading and exploring fun things to do in Los Angeles.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Conversational Chinese (Mandarin) and Spanish.
• Personal Accomplishments: During medical school, I ran four marathons! I value continuous personal growth, self-improvement, and maintaining a healthy balance between work and life. Completing these marathons is a more tangible example of how I have worked on these areas. Balancing life and work can be challenging, but making time for my family and keeping healthy habits helps me stay focused. I am proud of the person I am today and I look forward to growing and improving more as I continue my training.
 
Jessica Miller, MD Jessica Miller, M.D.
• Place of Birth: Berkeley, California.
• Medical School: University of Wisconsin, School of Medicine and Public Health, Madison, WI.
• Date of Graduation: May 2011.
• Education: University of California, Santa Cruz, CA (B.A., Women’s Studies); San Jose State
University, CA (Post-baccalaureate, Pre-Medical Education).
• Hobbies: Hiking with my dogs, gardening, sewing, enjoying crochet and other crafts.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Intermediate Spanish.
• Personal Accomplishments: Prior to my medical career, I trained as a massage therapist. I studied various healing modalities including herbal medicines and supplements, acupressure, cranio-sacral therapy and reiki. Additionally, I worked with farmers and farm-workers in Watsonville and the Central Valley, helping them to transition to more sustainable farming methods. I am also a founding board member of WorldWide Opportunities on Organic Farms – U.S.A., which creates opportunities for educational exchange around growing food and sustainable living.
 

 

 PGY-2 Residents

JADe DArDIne, MD Jade Dardine, M.D.
• Place of Birth: Sebastopol, CA.
• Medical School: University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine, San Francisco, CA.
• Date of Graduation: September 2011.
• Education: California State University, Sonoma, CA (B.S., Molecular and Cell Biology/Chemistry).
• Hobbies: Cooking, going outdoors, spending time with my family and friends and enjoying Aikido.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Conversational Hindi.
• Personal Accomplishments: Rebuilding my Volkswagon van engine when I was 16 years old, the time I spent in India and the work I did there, and my postdoc year at UCLA looking at histone tail modifications and their role on cellular metabolism.
 
JoSe FLoreS, MD Jose Flores, M.D.
• Place of Birth: Los Angeles, California.
• Medical School: University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine, Los Angeles, CA.
• Date of Graduation: May 2012.
• Education: University of California, Berkeley, CA (B.A., Integrative Biology, Chicano Studies).
• Hobbies: Running, traveling, enjoying ethnic cuisine, playing baseball, enjoying  astronomy and hiking.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Spanish.
• Personal Accomplishments: My proudest accomplishment is being the first in my family to complete a college education and graduate from medical school. Although my parents immigrated to this country with only a 5th grade education, they taught me the value of hard work from an early age and they always supported my educational endeavors. I am also proud of having completed two marathons in my lifetime.
 
Tien Le, DO Tien Le, D.O.
• Place of Birth: Monterey Park, California.
• Medical School: Western University of Health Sciences, College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific, Pomona CA
• Date of Graduation: May 2012.
• University of California, San Diego, CA (B.S., Biochemistry and Cell Biology).
• Hobbies: Cooking, traveling, hiking, and enjoying arts and crafts.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: None.
• Personal Accomplishments: I am most proud of my personal and educational growth. Being raised by immigrant parents, the concept of hard work and striving for improvement while maintaining a humble personality has been instilled in me. Because of my parent’s sacrifices, I was able to attend undergraduate and medical school and therefore become the first doctor in my family. In addition, I make every effort to maintain balance in my life so the stressors of being a physician will not interfere with the relationships I have with my family and friends.
 
JAMeS KAnG, Do   James Kang, D.O.
• Place of Birth: Los Angeles, California.
• Medical School: Touro University College of osteopathic Medicine, Vallejo, CA.
• Date of Graduation: June 2012.
• Education: University of California, Berkeley, CA (B.S., Molecular Cell Biology).
• Hobbies: Family, music (guitar/violin), recreational shooting, tennis, travel, basketball, Golden State Warriors, 49ers, Giants (baseball) and watch movies.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Korean.
• Personal Accomplishments: Throughout my college and medical school experience, I have been able to prioritize my family, friends, Christian faith and community service in the midst of a demanding academic schedule. This has been only because of the amazing people in my life (especially my wife), and I look forward to promoting and demonstrating a balance lifestyle to my patients.
 
PrISCILLA MoSqUeDA, MD Priscilla Mosqueda, M.D.
• Place of Birth: Los Angeles, California.
• Medical School: University Autonoma De Guadalajara, Mexico.
• Date of Graduation: June 2011.
• Education: Brown University of California, Los Angeles, CA (B.S., Chemistry).
• Hobbies: Spending time with my family, dancing, exercising and watching movies.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Spanish.
• Personal Accomplishments: Being able to move to a foreign country and build a life of my own and being the recipient of the New York College “Pre-Internship Student of the Year” award.
 
CLAUDIne Lott, MD Claudine Lott, M.D.
• Place of Birth: Concord, Massachusetts.
• Medical School: University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester, MA.
• Date of Graduation: June 2012.
• Education: Brown University, Providence, rI (B.A., Latin American Studies).
• Hobbies: Dance, read, film, theater and visual arts.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Spanish and Portuguese.
• Personal Accomplishments: Packing up my car and driving 3,000 miles across the United States to start residency in California! Hiking the Grand Canyon, traveling extensively throughout europe and the Americas and teaching dance and choreography during high school, college and medical school.
 
HoWArD LIU, MD Howard Liu, M.D.
• Place of Birth: Hong Kong
• Medical School: University of California, Davis School of Medicine, Sacramento, CA.
• Date of Graduation: June 2012.
• Education: University of California, Los Angeles, CA (B.S., Mathematics) and University of California, Los Angeles, CA (M.A., Mathematics).
• Hobbies: Bicycling, doing tai-chi, playing violin, enjoying bluegrass mandolin, enjoying erhu, singing Cantonese opera, learning different languages, and enjoying literary and philosophical classics.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Fluent in Spanish, Cantonese, Mandarin, Taishanese, German, reads French and Japanese.
• Personal Accomplishments: Finished the San Francisco Marathon alongside my brother in 1996, revived my hometown’s historic Chinese school in 2001, graduated from college with highest honors from UCLA’s Mathematics Department, elected Medical Student of the Year at the Paul Hom Asian Free Clinic in 2009, and elected in a landslide victory to become Special Kitchen Crew Chief to oversee all vegetarian and holiday meals at the University Cooperative Housing Association by a membership of 350 in 1991.
 

 

 PGY-1 Residents

                       

Xochitl Sanchez Marquez

Xochitl I. Marquez, D.O.
• Place of Birth: Morelos, Mexico.
• Medical School: A.T. Still University, School of Osteopathic Medicine, Mesa, AZ.
• Date of Graduation: June 2013
• Education: Occidental College, Los Angeles, CA, B.A. Kinesiology, Spanish Literature and Culture, May 2006.
• Hobbies: Dancing, traveling, spending time with family and friends, painting, drawing, arts and crafts projects.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Spanish
• Personal Accomplishments: I am the first college graduate and physician in my family. As an immigrant from Mexico and having grown up in an underserved community, I am grateful for the opportunity to continue motivating similar individuals to pursue their dreams despite the obstacles confronted. One of my greatest accomplishments has been tutoring/mentoring students from low socioeconomic backgrounds in the LAUSD area and motivating them to pursue a college education.  I am most proud to become part of a specialty that will allow me to positively impact the health of my community through early prevention and education.


 

Cliff Okada

Cliff Okada, M.D.
• Place of Birth: Los Angeles, CA.
• Medical School: Los Angeles, CA.
• Date of Graduation: May 2013
• Education: University of California, San Diego, CA, B.S. Biochemistry/Cell Biology, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA, M.S. Biomedical Sciences/Human Genetics, June 2009.
• Hobbies: Traveling, surfing, diving, basketball, cycling, painting and photographing.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Basic Spanish, Japanese
• Personal Accomplishments: Fell in love with working with the underserved after spending two years in Swaziland as a Peace Corps Volunteer doing HIV/AIDS work.


 

Laura Otis

Laura Otis, M.D.
• Place of Birth: Phoenix, AZ.
• Medical School: Wayne State University School of Medicine, Detroit, MI.
• Date of Graduation: June 2013
• Education: Brown University, Providence, RI, B.A. Comparative Literature, May 1999.
• Hobbies: Going to live music, swimming, and gardening.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Spanish
• Personal Accomplishments: Volunteering for 5+ years at the Berkeley Free Clinic as a lay community health care worker.


 

Isaac Sanchez

Isaac Sanchez, M.D.
• Place of Birth: Bakersfield, CA.
• Medical School: University of California-Davis, Davis, CA.
• Date of Graduation: June 2013
• Education: University of California-Davis, Davis, CA, B.S. Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior, June 2006.
• Hobbies: Sports and mariachi music.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Spanish.
• Personal Accomplishments: Co-Director of Clinica Tepati in Sacramento, a free clinic serving uninsured Latino population of Sacramento. Mentoring future/current medical students from high school to medical school. Being there for my family.


 

Diana Aceves Rezvani Diana Aceves Rezvani, D.O.
• Place of Birth: Pasadena, CA.
• Medical School: Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine, New York, NY.
• Date of Graduation: June 2013.
• Education: University of California, Santa Cruz, B.A. Psychology, Dec. 2005.
• Hobbies: Films, live music, museums, trying new restaurants, exploring locally, meeting new people, spending time with friends and family, and cooking.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Spanish.
• Personal Accomplishments: I’m proud of having had the opportunity to have worked as an HIV counselor and eventually an HIV Counselor trainer, focusing on high risk populations for the UCSF Alliance Health Project in San Francisco and AIDS Healthcare Foundation in Los Angeles. These experiences helped shape my feelings about the importance of primary care access and community education.
 
Khamphoucanh Southisombath

Khamphoucanh Southisombath, M.D.
• Place of Birth: Savannakhet, Lao People’s Democratic Republic.
• Medical School: University of California-San Diego School of Medicine, La Jolla, CA.
• Date of Graduation: June 2013
• Education: California State University-Fresno, Fresno, CA, B.S. Molecular Biology, June 2006.
• Hobbies: Cooking, gardening, hiking, spending time with family and friends, meeting new people, reading, watching Chicago Bulls.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Thai, Laotian, and Basic Conversational Spanish.
• Personal Accomplishments: I had the opportunity to work with the Lao Community of San Diego/Fresno to create a diabetes education video incorporating Lao cultural values and practices. The video aired on Lao satellite television that aired in the United States, Canada, Thailand, Laos and France. It featured at the Lao Community Health Fair in San Diego and won a couple of medical school awards. It was very rewarding to see the community come together and make a positive difference in the health of their friends and families.


 

Jerrod Writt

Jerrod Writt, M.D., M.B.A.
• Place of Birth: Schweinfurt, Germany.
• Medical School: University of California-Irvine School of Medicine, Irvine, CA.
• Date of Graduation: June 2013
• Education: Pepperdine University, Malibu, CA, B.S. Sports Medicine, April 2001, University of California-Irvine, Irvine, CA, M.B.A. Business, June 2012.
• Hobbies: Working out, basketball, football, classical and jazz music, cooking, and fantasy football.
• Languages Spoken in Addition to English: Spanish and Italian.
• Personal Accomplishments: Helped organize an organ and tissue donor drive at my medical school during my 2nd year that resulted in a match.


 

 

 

top

Conditions & Treatments